The Inter-State Council was established under Article 263 of the Constitution of India through a Presidential Order dated 28th May 1990.( [size:1MB] )

The Council consists of:-

  • Prime Minister – Chairman
  • Chief Ministers of all States – Members
  • Chief Ministers of Union Territories having a Legislative Assembly and Administrators of UTs not having a Legislative Assembly – Members
  • Six Ministers of Cabinet rank in the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the Prime Minister – Members

The Presidential Order of 1990 has been amended twice vide Order dated 19th July 1990 ( [size:674 kb] ) and Order dated 24th December 1996 ( [size:462 kb] ) providing for Governor of a State under President’s rule to attend the meeting of the Council and nomination by the Chairman of permanent invitees from amongst the other Union Ministers, respectively.

The Council was first constituted vide Gazette notification dated 27th December, 1990 ( [size:284kb]) and was last reconstituted vide  Gazette notification dated 19th May, 2022. ( [size:260kb])